Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to main navigation
Instructions

Graphics tip for slide plots: Adding a border to text and cutting it out in CorelDraw X3

During training sessions and in-house exhibitions, our customers often ask us how to create a frame around text so that, for example, they can plot a frosted-glass film with cut-out letters as the basis for a sign and then stick the actual letters – but with an even spacing all round – can be stuck into this frame.

Here is the finished example: the frame around the text has been punched out of a red area, whilst the black text itself remains in place.

Finished example – text with a frame; the objects are separated from one another:

Black lettering reading ‘TEST’ on a red background, surrounded by a white cut-out of uniform width forming a frame around the letters
CorelDraw: black text ‘TEST’ offset above the white cut-out text frame on a red background, objects separated

The steps required for this are described here using CorelDRAW X3. The process is virtually identical in previous and subsequent versions.

1. First, we select the Rectangle Tool to draw an element for the background (the frosted glass film) for our example.

CorelDRAW X3 with the Rectangle Tool active: a freshly drawn, as yet unfilled rectangle measuring 270 x 180 mm as the background for the film plot

2. We fill the rectangle with red by clicking on the red colour swatch on the right-hand edge of the screen; we turn off the outline by right-clicking on the crossed-out white box above the colour swatches on the right.

CorelDRAW X3 with a red-filled rectangle, 270 × 180 mm; the mouse pointer is over the crossed-out colour patch, and the outline setting is set to ‘None’

3. Using the Text tool, we add some text on the red background and then resize it to make it nice and big.

CorelDraw X3: Text ‘TEST’ set using the Text tool in Arial 24 pt on a red-filled rectangle with no outline
CorelDraw X3: a red rectangle without an outline, containing large black text ‘TEST’ in Arial, marked with selection points – Step 3 of the tutorial

4. We open the ‘Outline’ menu from the ‘Effects’ top-level menu.

CorelDRAW X3 with the Effects menu open and the Outline option selected (Ctrl+F9), with the black text ‘TEST’ on a red rectangle behind it

5. Select the text object using the selection tool. We can now choose, to the right of the artboard, whether to extend the outline ‘Outwards’ (in our case) or ‘Inwards’. We select a distance of ‘2.0 mm’ in ‘1’ step.

CorelDraw X3: selected text ‘TEST’ on a red rectangle; on the right, the ‘Outline’ docker with ‘Outer’, a distance of 2 mm, 1 step and the ‘Assign’ button

6. When you click on ‘Assign’, an outline in the text colour is added and the text appears bolder. In fact, however, both the text and the extended outline are now present.

CorelDraw X3: Text ‘TEST’ on a red background, Outline pane set to ‘Outer’, spacing 2.0 mm, 1 step, mouse pointer over ‘Assign’

7. To be able to see the outline at all, we switch to ‘Outline’ under ‘View’.

CorelDraw X3: the ‘View’ menu is open with the ‘Outline’ option selected; behind it is the text ‘TEST’ in red and the ‘Outline’ dialogue box set to ‘Outer’, 2.0 mm, 1 step

8. In the outline view, we separate the combination of the extended outline and the text via the ‘Arrange’ menu and ‘Ungroup: …’.

CorelDraw X3: Arrange menu with command selected – Ungroup: Outline group, ‘TEST’ text with outer outline in Outline view

9. The two objects are now separate, and we will now select only the extended outline using the selection tool. We then switch back to ‘Extended’ view mode in the ‘View’ menu – the default setting in CorelDraw.

CorelDraw X3 in outline view: the text ‘TEST’ with the extended outline selected, outline window set to ‘Outside’ with a spacing of 2.0 mm

10. Now let’s choose a colour for the extended outline so that we can see it more clearly, e.g. light grey.

CorelDraw X3: ‘TEST’ text with a light grey extended outline on a red background; on the right, the ‘Outline’ docker with a 2 mm spacing

11. Next, the extended outline needs to be cut out from the red background so that it can later be cut out separately on the cutting plotter. To do this, we first open the ‘Shapes’ menu under ‘Arrange’ and ‘Shapes’.

CorelDraw X3: The Arrange > Shapes menu opens a dockable window, behind which is the text ‘TEST’ with a light grey outline on a red background

12. In the menu that opens on the right-hand side, select ‘Crop’ from the drop-down menu and ensure that the outline is still selected. We remove the ticks next to ‘Source objects’ or ‘Destination objects’, as we no longer need the outline (source object) individually after cropping, nor do we need the entire red background (destination object).

After clicking the ‘Crop’ button, we click on the red background with the mouse pointer to select the object to be cropped.

CorelDraw X3: Shapes docking pane with cropping, tick marks removed from source and destination objects, mouse pointer on a red background behind the text ‘TEST’

13. The frame you have created is now punched into the background.

CorelDraw X3: red background with black text ‘TEST’, white outline around the letters cut out, ‘Shapes with Crop’ docking pane on the right

Both objects – the text and the background – are separate from one another and can be reused or cut out using a cutting plotter.

CorelDraw X3: black text ‘TEST’ offset, with white cut-out lettering on a red background underneath; Crop in the Shapes window

For further processing in a cutting plotter, the text should be converted via ‘Arrange’ and ‘Convert to Curves’; after that, it is advisable to export the file as an EPS file for further processing of the data in cutting software such as FlexiStarter or similar programmes.

Tags Creative Academy Graphic CorelDraw